20 Tips for Potty Training: From the Mouths of Moms

From binspiredmama.blogspot.com

From the Mouths of Moms Potty Training Alright, Mamas, what are your best tips for potty training?

1. Make Sure They Are Ready
“My top tip is to wait until they are ready! My three potty trained at 3, 3.5, and 21 months.” MaryAnne from Mama Smiles

2. Make Sure YOU Are Ready, Too
“My main bit of advice, do it when YOU (the parent) [are] ready. I am convinced it is as much about the parent than it is about the child… as the parent needs to have the patience and calm of the first 1-3 weeks of mess and stress. Then go for it.” Maggy from Red Ted Art

3. Let Them Lead
“Possibly not a top tip given that Goblin isn’t potty trained yet (31 months) but we are trying Child led potty … not really training, maybe acquisition? We just talk to him about it and let him choose whether he wants to wear a nappy or pants and when he wants to use the toilet. He has done quite a few pees and poops in the toilet. No accidents so far.” The Monko from Taming the Goblin

4. Steer Clear of Life Changing Events
”Everyone was pressuring me to try to get Priscilla (then barely 3) out of diapers before the new baby came. But I had always heard that kids can regress when a new sibling comes or during another life changing event. So I didn’t stress about it, and just a few weeks after the baby was here, she expressed interest on her own and was fully trained within 3 days. I’m so glad I waited!” Krissy from B-Inspired Mama

5. Start Young
“My best advice is to start young! In my ten years of being a nanny, and with my experience with my older two, younger is much easier.” Allison from Train Up A Child

Read all the wonderful tips at: http://binspiredmama.blogspot.com/2012/06/20-tips-for-how-to-potty-train-from.html#.T9CpTy9Rf70.pinterest

If you like this, get lots more by signing up for B-Inspired Mama’s Newsletter. And follow B-Inspired Mama on FacebookTwitter, orPinterest!

Leave a Reply

